Room to Breathe early works program

The Northern Territory Government is spending $1.1 billion on remote housing over the next 10 years from 2017 until 2027.
There are four programs:

  • $500 million for new housing (HomeBuild NT)
  • $200 million for housing for local recruits
  • $200 million for additional repairs and maintenance
  • $200 million for more living spaces to existing houses (Room to Breathe)

$10 million of the Room to Breathe program has been fast tracked to 2016-17 to build extra living spaces to stimulate the economy and respond to Territorians’ requests for the program to start. This is referred to as the Room to Breathe early works program.

The 24 communities are:
- Ali Curung
- Lajamanu
- Ampilatwatja
- Maningrida
- Areyonga
- Milikapiti (announced yesterday)
- Belyuen
- Milyakburra
- Beswick
- Ngukurr
- Bulman
- Numbulwar
- Engawala
- Ramingining
- Gapuwiyak
- Titjikala
- Hermannsburg
- Weemol
- Jilkminggan
- Wadeye
- Kintore
- Warruwi
- Kybrook Farm
- Wurrumiyanga

These communities were chosen because of over-crowding, to be fair across geographic regions, and where existing Indigenous businesses can do the work in time.

The work will focus on households that need more space for their larger families, or people who are aged or are highly dependent. Living spaces will be built that do not require water and sewerage infrastructure.

The Department of Housing and Community Development has been visiting these communities to talk to housing reference groups and local authorities about which houses might need more living space.

Indigenous Business Enterprises and some regional councils who employ Aboriginal workers will do the building work in these communities.
Work is expected to be well underway or completed by June 2017.

The Room to Breathe early works is only the first part of the government’s $1.1 billion remote housing program and is not the only housing investment or local economic opportunities communities may receive.

Last updated: 02 March 2017