Homelands Policy Review – opportunity to provide your feedback

The NT Government’s Homelands Policy is being reviewed and the Department of Housing and Community Development is seeking feedback from homelands and outstations residents, homelands service providers, stakeholders and members of the public. Find out how to provide feedback.

Homelands Services

Homelands and outstations are interchangeable terms used in different parts of the Northern Territory to describe places where small populations of Aboriginal people live in remote areas, on lands to which they have traditional ownership or historical association.

The Northern Territory Government recognises and supports the fundamental right of Aboriginal Territorians to live on, develop and maintain their homelands. Support for Aboriginal people to live on, develop and maintain their homelands is also in line with international obligations.

Significant national and Northern Territory policies exist to support homeland residents to fulfil their aspiration to maintain and strengthen distinct political, legal, economic, social and cultural institutions on homelands. Homelands policy and guidelines are aligned with Remote Contracting Policy and Good Practice Guidelines for Funding Remote Communities. Service delivery to homelands reflects these objectives and will continue to be based on strong, productive and collaborative relationships in recognition of the Territory’s long term commitment to principles of priority, engagement, sustainability, access and accountability. Approximately 10,000 Aboriginal Territorians are residents in 2,400 dwellings on more than 500 homelands across the Territory.

Find out about the Homelands Services Grants Program.

Homelands policy

The homelands policy is currently under review. When the review is finished the updated policy will be published on the website.

Funding to improve your homelands house

Services to remote communities and homelands


Homelands Services
Department of Housing and Community Development
Phone: 1800 031 648

Last updated: 15 November 2018