Remote morgues

The Remote Morgues Program will ensure morgue facilities in 20 remote communities are constructed or upgraded to allow the Department of Health through its health service providers to deliver morgue services to local Aboriginal people in these communities.

Maningrida, Wurrumiyanga, Lake Evella and Kaltukatjara (Docker River) which did not have a morgue, are receiving new morgues. Alpurrurulam, Kalkarindji, Ngukurr and Numbulwar are having their existing facility replaced with a new morgue. In addition 12 communities will receive upgrades to their morgue facilities.

The Department of Infrastructure, Planning and Logistics is managing the construction work in conjunction with the Department of Housing and Community Development and the Department of Health. The Department of Health manages the operation and ongoing funding of remote morgues.

Morgue construction update 30 January 2018

Twelve morgues upgrades have been completed at:

  • Ali Curung
  • Alyangula
  • Borroloola
  • Elliott
  • Jabiru
  • Kintore
  • Lajamanu
  • Nyirripi
  • Papunya
  • Yuendumu
  • Gunbalanya
  • Wadeye

Five new morgues have been constructed at:

  • Kalkarindji
  • Maningrida
  • Lake Evella
  • Kaltukatjara (Docker River)
  • Ngukurr

Two new morgues are due to be completed in February at:

  • Numbulwar
  • Wurrumiyanga

A new morgue will be tendered for construction at Alpurrurulam.

Due to be handed over in June 2018, this is the final morgue to be completed under the $6.17 million Remote Morgues Program.

Last updated: 19 September 2018