Local government council elections

Local government council elections

Council elections will take place on Saturday 26 August 2017. 

Early voting opens from Monday 14 August 2017.

Mobile voting opens from Monday 15 August 2017 in remote areas.

Become a council member

You can directly influence decisions that effect your community by becoming a council member.

Council members:

  • represent the interests of residents and ratepayers in their council area
  • provide leadership and guidance
  • attend council meetings
  • help communicate between local people and the council
  • ensure the council acts honestly, efficiently and appropriately.

How to nominate

To become a council member you must first nominate as a candidate.

You can become a candidate if you are aged 18 years or over, enrolled to vote in your council area and meet some conditions of nomination.

Nominations open on Friday 14 July 2017 and close at 12 noon on Thursday 3 August 2017.

Election roadshow

Local Government staff are visiting communities across the Northern Territory on behalf of the NT Electoral Commission (NTEC) to let residents know about the local government elections taking place in August.

The roadshow helps ensure residents know the elections are happening, are enrolled to vote and have the opportunity to nominate for election to their local municipal, regional or shire council.

Each visit includes a free bbq.

  • Saturday 15 July - Milyakburra (Bickerton Island)
  • Saturday 15 July - Angurugu (Groote Eylandt)
  • Sunday 16 July - Umbakumba (Groote Eylandt)
  • Monday 17 July - Gapuwiyak
  • Monday 17 July - Galiwin'ku (Elcho Island)
  • Monday 17 July - Elliott
  • Wednesday 19 July - Alpurrurulam
  • Friday 21 July - Milingimbi (part of Crocodile Islands)
  • Friday 21 July - Ramingining
  • Monday 24 July - Yirrkala
  • Monday 24 July - Gunyangara

More information

Find out more about local government elections, how to enrol to vote, how to vote, when to vote and how to nominate as a candidate at the Northern Territory Electoral Commission website.

Last updated: 11 October 2017